School of Medicine takes off as new Council takes charge


The Customer Care Centre block was also part of the grand multi-million projects launched by Chancellor Prof Douglas Odhiambo and Council Chair Dr Kevit Desai soon after the inauguration of the new council. Works on the SoM and the Customer Care Centre block have begun in earnest barely a week after it was unveiled with the management saying all is for the fast-tracking of the project.

Prof Odhiambo in his speech to the new council members underscored the need to have all the projects earmarked by the former council fast tracked and more income generating initiatives designed. “We have, as a university, come a long way. It is your duty to facilitate more collaborations and linkages as well as look for alternative income generating initiatives for the progress of our institution,” he said.

Sworn in to the council were: Chair Dr. Desai, members Ms.Rebecca Butalangi, Alfred O. Mango, Ms. Jane Mbagi Mutua, Ms.Alice Mwololo and Hamid Abiyo Morowa. The swearing in was witnessed by Acting Vice Chancellor Prof Laila Abubakar, AFP and ARE Deputy Vice chancellors Prof Joseph Rasowo, and Prof Raphael Mutuku, AA and AP Registrars Dr Njihia Paul and Kilungu Matata respectively. Others present were Acting Finance Officer Alfred Indeche and Legal Officer Serah Okumu.